Skip Navigation
Skip to contents

Korea University

  • eng
  • kor

Korea University was established on May 5, 1905, as Bosung College by Lee Yong-Ik, Treasurer of the Royal Household.
The first College President was Hae-Uoung Shin. As an academic institution of nationalistic origin, it was regarded
as a symbol of national pride during the colonial period (1910–1945).

Korea University College of Medicine
Korea University College of Medicine is the medical school of Korea University. As one of the oldest medical schools in South Korea, it has been historically regarded as one of the country's top medical schools. In 2021, the Korea University Medical Center was ranked as one of the top 100 hospitals in the world by Newsweek magazine.

The school was founded as Chosun Women's Medical Training Institute in 1928 by Rosetta Sherwood Hall. The institute was subsequently renamed several times and ultimately merged with Korea University to become Korea University College of Medicine. So far, the school has produced over 7,000 graduates, most of whom are working as prominent physicians and public health advocates worldwide.